From Composer to Music Director, the much needed transition

Posted: October 5, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Composing Vocal tunes has been my hobby since around 3 years now. The tune as it is, when produced vocally, may not make sense to many people who are listening to it. Hence, as an effort to make the Tune more reachable, I started fitting some words into the tune. Gradually I realized that people would laugh at the words, more than appreciating the tune, if at all the words made no sense to them.

This provoked me to transit to the next phase of writing meaningful “lyrics” to fit my tune, everytime I made a tune and I wanted to show it to someone. Co incidentally,  I could frame some meaningful imaginations into all of the tunes, if not out of box words! Slowly, I realized I was actually making my own “songs”. Recorded around 4-5 compositions of mine and shared it with the wide network among my friends. Some of the compositions backed with good lyrics, got some unexpected appreciation like “steal worthy composition.. wish I had composed it“[Raghu Dixit] , “Very good lyrics“[Dayal Padmanabhan] etc.

But still, the greatness of the composition which I could see in my songs, wasnt reaching to the masses! Ofcourse, why would  they bother to imagine how would it look with better singing and instruments backing it up???

This was the provoking factor for me to assume the position of a Music Director. The only experience I have is Confidence. Decided to shell out some Money too, in making an Kannada Music Album composed, written, sung and directed by ME ! There is a joke which reads as “He is the writer, he is the composer, he is the director, he is the actor, he is the singer…. and finally he is the ONLY audience too 😉 ” !  I only wish that the joke doesn’t become a fact in this case, as am doing this with passion, love , hopes , talent, patience, discoveries all mixed in various proportions.

abhishek s n

Kannada Music Album

One of my friend, who is also an Actress asked me, why do I have to shell out my money into music direction? My answer to her was very rude, but still it convinced her 🙂 Actresses who want to step in to the industry in a big way,  shell out money to get their portfolio done from photographers. When they have photos in hand, all they can do is that, they can show them off to directors. I thought Iam doing something similar, that Iam shelling out money to turn my own compositions into songs, which i can show off to bigger set of people later. But here is a difference too, compared to the former one 😉 The difference is that , I can atleast sell the music to atleast 10 people around me… whereas, those portfolio cant be sold. Ha Ha Ha yeah the conversation ended with a laughter from her side.

Ofcourse, unlike the example of the actress I gave,  its not a big wish for me to enter the industry as a Music Director only. I have been passionate about writing and photography too. Nowadays anyone with a simple digital camera can show off photography skills (or rather camera skills)  somehow. Everyone who “chats” and “write”s into the chat window can claim to be writers. Hence May be, thats the reason I felt more secure to choose the path of Music 🙂 LOL !

My plan is to have 7[SEVEN] songs in the album, each one to be different from the another and each one to be better than the other. People generally ask me the TITLE of this album. Iam very honest, that I havent thought of a suitable title. May be I would like pronounce the working title of this project as “SaraLa swaragaLa” (translated as “that which has simple notes“).

The next best question that I have to answer is, when can we listen to it.  Oh man.. quite simple…. My close friends would be listening to the bits daily. … Friends who are in less touch, could listen to rough mixes whenever they get in touch.  Hmm Ha Ha Ha OK.. I know the question is, when is the release!? Hmm , I plan to release it in FEB 2012. But ofcourse, this is only if I get support from Audio companies and Distributors. Dont expect me to do even that.  Iam sure I would be tired financially and effort wise, with just the music part of it, by JAN 2012 😉 !

FUTURE is unknown!
But a promise made, writes the consequences of the FUTURE!
– abhishek ! 

The promise from my side is that, I would definitely get out a wonderful musically very rich and genuine album on to your ears.

After sharing so many paragraphs of information and also making a big promise for you guys, I have just one request to make. Please support the music director inside ME to reach you. Help me get my work out to people. Wishes are not enough. Actions are essential to change the trend. Support can be as simple as Reading this blog, reacting with a comment, sharing it with friends, retweeting the tweet, letting friends know about it personally, getting me new leads in the audio industry which could potentially help me ease the process. Thanks everyone, in advance.

Coming soon, a blog about the experiences of making the music album 🙂 Keep tuned ! Catch me here : https://abhisheksn.wordpress.com/about/

Comments
  1. SANJEEV says:

    tis shows tat u have scrutinized well before the composition of the album hence even in case there are some odd comments it really should not matter to u,with all tis i wish u to do well as far as the album is concerned.

  2. snabhi says:

    thanks Sanjeev 🙂

  3. Super. Nice to read your blog after a long long time!

    Keep up your spirit and passion. Making of album is going on great with many great and very talented people’s involvement. I am excited to listen the full album. All the very best.

    Keep rocking,
    Vijay

  4. snabhi says:

    thanks so much vijay ! 🙂 !

  5. Swapnil says:

    Very Nice 🙂 my best wishesh with you always … cheers..!!!!! 🙂

  6. Swapnil H Digde says:

    “Suparrr… my best wishesh with you always … cheers..!!!!! 🙂

  7. snabhi says:

    Thanks swapnil !

  8. Riyaz says:

    hmm..
    1.First of all I am very happy that you are coming with your own album putting lot of efforts from your one and only one side
    2. Success is always with those people who work hard endless which you do always
    3. You Rock every time. is my wish
    all the best for your much waited album

  9. snabhi says:

    thanks Riyaz sir

  10. Avinav says:

    Super. All the best 🙂 ! Our support will always be there. Rock on !!

  11. kiran says:

    went thru ur blog. nice to know abt ur passion n dedication to music. waiting for the release of ur album..
    all the best. – kiran

  12. Raviraj says:

    All d best sir.

  13. DAYAL PADMANABHAN says:

    I KNOW ABHI..THOSE WORDS ARE FROM UR HEART AND TRUTH..ALL THE BEST,,I AM WITH U..

  14. Deepak Arasikere says:

    Its great to hear that ur making an album , all i can say is its going to be good

  15. snabhi says:

    Thanks a lot Avinav , Kiran and raviraj !

  16. snabhi says:

    Hey DAYAL … thanks soooo much !!! 🙂 ur name also mentioned in the blog heeee 🙂 !

  17. snabhi says:

    thanks deepak… need ur support

  18. snabhi says:

    Thankd deepak !! Rising star ? haha

  19. Mahesh says:

    very good blog,, i like to visit ur blog again again for this type of information only, thaks a lot abhi..

  20. Champu says:

    My full support is with you Bro 🙂
    Ur Album would really make a Milestone in d Music Industry 🙂
    Go ahead bro 🙂

  21. chandan says:

    all the best abhishek !!
    God gives every bird its food, but He does not throw it into its nest….
    all the very best ….

  22. snabhi says:

    Thanks chandan, champu and mahesh

  23. I always wondered, what and all a man can do..!!! Now you are the answer…I saw your photos…it was awesome, heard your voice..made me to talk to you about my friends here in Dubai…and now music composition, lyrics and also a producer of your own album..amazing..I am sure you will succeed….All the best..

  24. snabhi says:

    Thanks so much Ranjith 😀 ! do watch my movies as a writer too 😉 😛

  25. valerian says:

    all the best abhi… Your efforts will yield deserved and desired fruits:):)

  26. Vinay Shetty says:

    Ya Dude, way to go. Your efforts will be appreciated and I know you from many years, you have that courage to make it to a big level. I wish you all the best and support you always.

  27. snabhi says:

    Thanks Vinay ! Would keep up the hopes 🙂 thanks again

  28. Shilpa R says:

    woow, nice blog….. u will surely rock this field as well…. my best wishes always with u 🙂

  29. I believe you are very talented, but you are trying too many things..whichmay not help you and my opinion seeing you from last 4 yrs is you are getting spoiled by “hogalubhattaru” surrounding you and may have added bit of arrogance in you:)

    Anyway …hope you will be successful in this effort and make big name as music director/composer/singer.

    All the best!

    Guru

  30. I liked this part
    “Actresses who want to step in to the industry in a big way, shell out money to get their portfolio done from photographers. When they have photos in hand, all they can do is that, they can show them off to directors. I thought Iam doing something similar, that Iam shelling out money to turn my own compositions into songs, which i can show off to bigger set of people later”….. Man keep rocking… all the best dude…..

  31. snabhi says:

    Thanks so much Srinivas

  32. kiran says:

    FUTURE is unknown!
    But a promise made, writes the consequences of the FUTURE!

    Let u r FUTURE be in wat way u wish and desrved..

    Best Wishes

  33. Praveen Krishnan says:

    All the best buddy.. All of my prayers & Goodness with u.. Do rockkkkkkkkk…

  34. Vinay Ad says:

    good attempt, my suggestion is release some trailers so that it helps lot to promote.Instead of saying some thing is coming its always good to let all know what is that.For sure will help you to promote this.all the best.

  35. Akash Tholar says:

    All the best bro…..Keep rocking!!!…..we would love to support ur initiative :))

  36. san shetty says:

    wish u all de best Abhi…

  37. Baburao Bhoyi says:

    By reading this article I realize that you are good writer, at least here. A burning desire to deliver something different will yield good. All the best for you venture and wish you tremendous success. Waiting for the release date 🙂

  38. snabhi says:

    thanks so much san and baburao!

  39. Hamsaraj Shetty says:

    All the best buddy!!

  40. karthik says:

    Hi Abhi,
    My heartily wishes goes to you as I know that you can do it. All the very best to your album. ನಾನಂತು ನಿನ್ನ ಸಪೋರ್ಟ್ ಗೆ ಇದ್ದೆ ಇರ್ತಿನಿ. ಜೈ ಶ್ರೀ ರಾಮ್ !

  41. sonu priya says:

    super, The word neralaagi is very beautifull i wish u for grand success good luck..Cheers

  42. chandra says:

    Abhishek..Good luck…I am sure you will success in this …

  43. snabhi says:

    thanks very much

  44. Ashwin says:

    Coming from the IT background and still have time to follow your passion when most of us don’t (or at least we complain not to have time), it’s awesome to see you take a big risk but a big step. All the very best for the album, looking forward to the launch on the 31st Mar.

Leave a Reply

